Open main menu

Changes

Jamie's Restaurant

1,582 bytes added, 21:40, 1 June 2008
New page: thumb|right|250px|Jamie's Restaurant '''Jamie's Restaurant''' was an upscale restaurant in the Seville Square Historic District that specialized in Frenc...
[[Image:JamiesRestaurant.jpg|thumb|right|250px|Jamie's Restaurant]]
'''Jamie's Restaurant''' was an upscale restaurant in the [[Seville Square Historic District]] that specialized in French cuisine. It was located at 424 East [[Zaragoza Street]], in an [[1879]] cottage with a maximum seating capacity of 55. Originally the '''Seville Sweetshop''', it became a full-service restaurant and was renamed for owner [[Jamie Kirkland]] in [[1981]]. Among the original staff were headwaiter [[Gary Serafin]] and busboy [[Russell Scarritt]], both of whom would eventually become owners. Under chef [[Libbey Dasher]] and assistant [[Missy Hy]], the restaurant garnered numerous awards. In [[2007]] their famous lemon icebox pie was featured on the cover of [[Wikipedia:Bon Appétit|Bon Appétit]] magazine.<ref>"Southern boy has warm memories of Jamie's pie." ''Pensacola News Journal'', March 14, 2007.</ref>

It changed ownership several times: first to [[Ray Redish|Ray]] and [[Nell Redish]], then to Dasher and Serafin, and finally to Russell Scarritt and his wife [[Linda Scarritt|Linda]], who purchased the restaurant from Serafin in December [[1999]] for $300,000.<ref>"Jamie's new owner a jack-of-all trades in restaurant business." ''Pensacola News Journal'', January 22, 2000.</ref> The Scarritts decided to close the restaurant in May [[2008]], citing disruption from continuous road construction in the historic district.<ref>"Jamie's Restaurant closes." ''Pensacola News Journal'', May 24, 2008.</ref>

{{rest-stub}}

==References==
{{reflist}}

[[Category:Defunct restaurants]]